Charles Metcalf Award

IASC Charles Metcalf Award

The Charles Metcalf and Instructor of the Year Awards are given annually by the IASC to recognize individuals that devote much time to educating our youth in the various aspects required to become a legal, safe, courteous, etc Snowmobiler.

Each year we ask the IASC Membership to nominate deserving snowmobile safety instructors to add to this list. These individuals are recognized at the SEP Brunch at the annual Convention.

The Charles Metcalf nominee should be a person who has been dedicated to and has done an outstanding job of teaching snowmobile safety education for many years — need not be actively teaching at this time. The Instructor of the Year nominee should be a person who is presently teaching and doing an outstanding job.

Charles Metcalf & Instructor of the Year

Nominations may be submitted by IASC member snowmobile clubs or individual IASC/Club members. The following OFFICIAL NOMINATION FORM MUST BE USED. All nominations should include a cover letter offering some insight into why you feel your nominee should be chosen and pictures supporting your nominee. Also include the nominee’s full name, address, a description of the nominee and their contributions to snowmobiling, as well as an explanation as to why these contributions are particularly noteworthy.

Please submit 2 original nominations by October 1st

IASC Charles Metcalf And Instructor Of The Year (264.1 KiB, 22 downloads)

Charles Metcalf Award Recipients:

1976 – Tom Gardner
1982 – James Ostick
1983 – Bruce “DOC” Benstien
1985 – David Lesak
1986 – Joe Miller
1988 – Murray Quincer
1989 – George &  Beverly “Toots” Brefeld
1990 – George Gore
1991 – Elwyn “Tiny” Sanders
1992 – Mel Blaurock
1993 – Jack Dunkel, Jr.
1994 – Larry Ratzlaff
1995 – Warren Schultz
1996 – James & Ruth Bond
1997 – Ken Fiske
1998 – Ed Kelly
2000 – Ron Hambly
2001 – Rich and Eddie Jelinek
2002 – Gerry Grignon
2003 – Marvin Binkley
2004 – Bonnie & Merle Schultz
2005 – Bill Brown
2006 – Scott Kenewa
2007 – Bill Brown, Dale Devera, Keith Smith, Hiram McLaughlin, and the late George Janacek
2008 – John Oliver
2009 – Barb and Duke Mueller
2010 – Cynthia Brewer
2011 – Sue Giese
2012 – Sue Metz
2013 – Kim Moon-Armbrecht
2014 –Hank Armbrecht
2015 – Joe Kurelo