Sam Madonia Award

Region 7 has a prestigious award named after Sam Madonia. This award is selected and given out by Region 7 to any outstanding snowmobiler, person, group, or organization that Region 7 has felt that has gone above and beyond to help maintain a high level of snowmobiling in Illinois or the nation.

Sam’s History

Sam was an early John Deere snowmobile dealer in our eastern region 7 areas more towards the southern Cook and eastern Will county area.

  • Sam was not only a dealer but was also a snowmobiler.
  • Sam had a passion for the sport but most notably he had the vision of having a safe sport.
  • Sam was instrumental in getting some of the first safety classes and programs set up in Illinois until the Illinois Dept. of Conservation (now IDNR) took the lead on safety education for Illinois.
  • The Madonia family at Sam’s guidance and encouragement supplied Safety instructors for decades. Both Sam and his wife and children were all safety instructors at one time or another.

Sam is just one of the IASC’s founding snowmobilers that worked so hard to
build the IASC to the level that we are blessed with and have the privilege to
say we are members of today.


Sam Madonia Memorial Award Winners

2015 Jim Leone
2014 Mike Pearson
2013 Yvonne Dewey, Ellen Hazzard, Tina Hefel
2012 Mark Hazzard, Steve Hefel
2011 John Lyon
2010 Robin Lindberg
2009 Dan Long
2008 Matt & Laurie Kotesa
2007 B&M Motor Sports
2006 Cathy Hanson, Illinois Snowmobiler
2005 Larry Austin – posthumously
2003 Mark Hazzard
2002 Greg Hodges
2001 Bob Schwiesow – IDNR
2000 Chuck Bolatto
1999 Joe Johnson – posthumously
1998 Dave Carr – IDNR
1997 Murray Quincer
1996 Bill Brown
1995 Carol Lambert
1994 Murray Quincer
1993 Greg Kyle
1992 Jane Austin
1991 The Rusty Runners
1990 Ron Hambly
1989 Jim “007” & Ruth Bond
1988 Mary & Gene Gilbert
1987 George Gore
1986 Walt Olson
1985 Director Michael B Witte, Illinois D.O.C.
1984 Mel Blaurock
1983 Ron Hambly
1982 Glenn Valy
1981 Rose Madonia